Oromiya mapGeography:- Oromia National Regional State is one of the nine regions within the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia. It is the largest region covering an area of 363,346 square kilometers. It borders all regional states and two city government except the national regional state of Tigray. It also shares international boundaries with Kenya in the south and Sudan in the west. Administratively it is divided in to 20 Zones, 309 districts and 39 urban administrative centers.

Capital city:- The national capital city of the country, Finfinne/Addis Ababa is also the capital city of the Region.

Climate:- The mean annual rainfall of the region varies from 200 mm to 2400 mm while annual temperature mostly lies between 7.5-27.5oc. The region generally receives high rainfall. It has Tropical (49.8%), sub-tropical (42.2%), and temperate (7.5%) climatic conditions. It is home to a number of ecological attractions such as the Bale Mountains, the largest Afro-Alpine forest in Africa. Awash, Wabe-Shebele, Genale, Gibe, Baro, Dedessa and Guder are major rivers in the region. The region has 12 major lakes, which cover a total area of 3.135 square kilometers.

Location:- Located between 3o24’20”-10o23’26” N latitudes and 34o07’37”-42o58’51” E longitudes, extending for about eight degrees (8o) west to east and for about seven degrees (7o) north to south or vice versa

Population:- According to Finance and Economic Co-operation Bureau of Oromia population projection in 2017 is nearly 36.1 million people who live in the Regional State. It is the most populous region in the country. Over 30 million or 85.15% are living in rural area while the rest proportion of people live in urban center. Out of the total estimated population 49.2% are between the ages of 15-64 while another 47.6% are below the age of 15 years implying strong manpower resources availability.

Language:- Afan Oromo is official language of Oromia National Regional State. It is also the most widely spoken language in the country. Other local languages such as Amharic, Guragigna, Somali, Tigrigna and many more are also spoken within the region. English is the medium of instructions at schools and medium of communications in international business.

Religion:- MajorReligions in the country are Christianity and Islam. But there are a number of traditional Religions as well. One prominent feature of Ethiopia is religious tolerance that exists among different religious groups for a longer period of time.

Currency:- The Currency of Ethiopia is based on the decimal system. The units of Currency are the Birr and Cents. The Birr is divided into 100 Cents.

Calendar:- Ethiopia uses the Julian calendar, which divides the year into 12 months of 30 days each. The remaining five or six days in a leap year, constitute the short 13th month known as "Pagume". The calendar is seven years behind the Western or Gregorian calendar, with the Ethiopian New Year falling on 11th of September.

Working Hours:- Ethiopia is in the GMT+3 time zones. The government office hours are 8:30 am - 12:30 pm and 1:30 pm - 5:30 pm from Monday through Thursday; and 8:30 am -11:30 and 1:30 pm-5:30 pm on Fridays.

Go to top